Overnight fire destroys Topeka home

By Tori Mason
WIBW – June 12, 2017

Video648

Mission Township Fire responded to the home on SW 54th Court in Topeka around 4 a.m. on reports of a garage fire.

The homeowner told 13 NEWS the fire burned for an hour in the garage before he realized there was one. He says the smoke alarm never sounded.

“I thought it was the furniture on the deck that was blowing around, so I tried to go back to sleep. Then I heard some more noises and I thought it was the kids in the kitchen. I thought the silverware was clanking around. Then I heard some popping, so I finally got up and went around to the dining room and looked out and I could see the flames from the garage,” said homeowner Mike Erwin.

Five people were home at the time. Everyone was able to get out unharmed.

The investigation into what started the fire is still ongoing.

 

Posted by Gwen Dorr Romine, KSFFA Webmaster
http://www.ksffa.com
KSFFA’s Fire News Blog Home Page

0 Responses to “Overnight fire destroys Topeka home”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

